30 Day OUAT Challenge – Day 19

Favourite Actress

Lana Parrilla

20140423-055349 pm.jpg

I love her portrayal of the Evil Queen/Regina so much. As with Rumple, I don’t think I’d love the character as much if it weren’t for the actress who plays here. The common theme with my two favourite actors seems to be the amazing diversity they can bring to the character. Lana balances the harsh and withdrawn Evil Queen with the broken but caring mother Regina. It is a beautiful specimen of acting that compliments the complexity of the character herself.

As the Evil Queen, we see Regina having to do some acting. She puts on this facade, which does crumble every know and again, and hides behind the brutality and cruelty associated with the Evil Queen. Soon, Regina herself can’t tell the difference where she ends and the Evil Queen begins. Seeing as my favourite badass moment involves the Evil Queen not giving a f**k what people think of her, even on her execution post, I love the solidarity and confidence that comes with the Evil Queen.

Regina, on the other hand, is a little more delicate, more vulnerable. It takes real skill to show both sides of a character that are complete opposite ends of the spectrum. It is truly spectacular, which is why I love her. You can really see the love and affection she feels for Henry, as well as the hurt and panic she feels when she finds out about Emma for the first time all the way back in season one.

Lana, I think, is the most talented actress on the show. For me, she brings something that no one else really does. She seems the most multi-dimensional of all the female characters. Her character has different motives and methods than anyone else, and isn’t afraid to resort to them when every else says she shouldn’t, or even can’t. She truly brings Regina to life, and I love her for it.

Leave a comment