Eurovision Song Contest 2014

20140511-100308 am.jpg

I love Eurovision. I always have and probably always will. It is one of the highlights of my year, for sure – not quite sure what that says about me, but oh well. So, this is my take on some of the highlights of the finale.

(Also, if you click on the name of each country, you’ll go to a video of their performance. Because I’m nice like that).

1. Iceland

20140511-100457 am.jpg

These were my favourite act of the night. They were so happy and colourful and wholesome that you couldn’t help but love them instantly. What isn’t there to love? They looked like the Wiggles with their brightly coloured outfits, for goodness sake! And their song was so sweet – no prejudice. It’s something we can all take away and try to apply to our lives.

2. Spain

20140511-100932 am.jpg

Ruth Lorenzo is an amazing singer, there’s no denying that. She got very far in the UK X Factor a few years ago. She did an absolutly amazing rendition of Purple Rain by Prince that no one has been able to beat. This song was lovely,one I really enjoyed. I loved that it showcased her amazing voice and the fact that she is bilingual. Not many people this year sung in their own language, and the fact that Ruth could switch between the two was a real credit to her. Well done!

3. Poland

20140511-101232 am.jpg

This was hilarious because I have a few friends from Poland, who I spoke to straight after the performance. They were less than happy with the representation of their country. If you don’t watch any of the others, I highly recommend this one just for the shock factor. It’s all a bit sensual, if you ask me. Not really Eurovision tradition, but it’s good and one hell of a way to make an impression.

4. England

(Well, ‘Great Britain’ technically, but whatever)

20140511-101422 am.jpg

My home nation. To say we reached 17th position, that’s very good for us. Usually we’re last at these sort of things. Europe doesn’t seem to like us for some reason… Molly is such a sweet girl and the song is actually OK. The past few years we’ve had a below average entry, although Bonnie Tyler was fabulous as ever. Also, I think our ‘postcard’ was the best of the night. Molly managed to co-ordinate several red busses and vans and a few hundred people in blue macs (very British, I must admit) to make the Union Jack flag! It’s very cool.

5. Austria

20140511-101849 am.jpg

Conchita Wurst. The worth winner. Not only was the song amazing, and beautifully sung, it sends a message to the rest of the world. It shows that no matter who we are, there is a majority that won’t give a shit and accept you for who you are. I’m sure this is the first time in Eurovision history that a drag act (as she describes herself) has entered the song contest, let alone won. It shows just how far we’ve come as a collective, and how regressive those who appose such choices really are.If the whole of Europe and come to gather and vote for her, then what is wrong with everybody else? And she won by a considerable amount, too.

6. Graham Norton

20140511-102306 am.jpg

This guy is our commentator for the evening. He’s done it for the past few years and it sooo funny! Mostly he just sits there and takes the piss out of all the acts, but eventually he does give us the information that we need to know. To be honest, it;s a nice weekend away for him where he’s paid to get drunk and take the mick. I think it’s a very English was to make a living. For me, he makes the show every year. He has his own chat show on British television, and it is amazing.

So, that’s it everyone! What an amazing contest this year, and I look forward to the next one. Well done to all the contestants, but especially Molly and Conchita. If you missed in, here is a playlist with all of the evening’s performances on them. Until next year!

Leave a comment